SupportedInitParams

Dec 6, 2010 at 6:04 PM
Edited Dec 6, 2010 at 6:09 PM

I would like to use InitParams to determine my media source with the SMFplayer and not use the PlayList feature.

I'm trying to use InitParameters="MediaUrl={0}" where the actual Url is provided by a CMS.

I am also trying to use Michael Scherotter's version of the player that was extended with a download progress bar.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/synergist/archive/2010/10/23/download-progress-bar-for-silverlight-media-framework-player.aspx?wa=wsignin1.0

In the SMF API reference, under SupportedInitParams, it seems like MediaUrl would be an option to send my movie's Url.

Is there anything else required to use InitParameters?

I have just pulled out the SMFPlayer.Playlist nodes from the MainPage.xaml and was hoping I could pass a MediaUrl to my player.

Thanks in advance for any help.... I am also new to Silverlight, I am working my way through everything on this.

Dec 7, 2010 at 7:43 PM

The MediaUrl InitParameter will work if your xap is simply the player, but if you are adding functionality and creating your own xap you might want to write it yourself. You should still be using playlists. In your case you just have a playlist of one. You do not need to show the playlist tab on the player but behind the scenes your video should still be a PlaylistItem.

You can use any Init Parameters you want. In your HTML you can specify any init param name/value pairs like this:

<object id="SilverlightPlugin" data="data:application/x-silverlight-2," type="application/x-silverlight-2" width="100%" height="100%">
    <param name="source" value="myPlugin.xap" />
    <param name="onError" value="OnSilverlightError" />
    <param name="background" value="Black" />
    <param name="minRuntimeVersion" value="1.2.3" />
    <param name="autoUpgrade" value="true" />
    <param name="initParams" value="MediaUri=http://mydomain/myVideo.mp4" />
</object>

Then you can read those initParams in you App.xaml.cs