Player Source...

Aug 11, 2010 at 2:35 PM

Hi;

This has to be a stupid question but forgive me as I am new to c#  and I have looked everywhere I could think of...  Hopefully it is an easy answer for someone.... 

I have extended my the smfplayer to create a new player and have a couple of questions...

I do not want to use playlists...  Can I do this?

I will get my media URL from a WCF webservice using C sharp...  so...

I have disabled playlist... myPlayer.PlaylistVisibility = Microsoft.SilverlightMediaFramework.Core.FeatureVisibility.Disabled;

now the player works great with playlist enabled but as I mentioned I do not want this functionality...  I want to use the play button PLAY routine to go and get the media URL at that time and then call base.play() after setting the media source...  is this do-able?

Here is the question....

How do i get access to the imediaplugin in order to set it's media source... or is this the right way to go about it?

I have tired everything I know to get the Source property in order to set it but I cannot find the answer...  I am missing something stupid I am sure but anyone's help would surely be appreciated...

Also...

Aug 11, 2010 at 2:37 PM

Sorry... had trouble posting...  kept getting errors...  ignore the also...  in this post...

Aug 11, 2010 at 3:12 PM
I would say that your best bet is to do the following 1. Wire up a method to the play click event that will call your wcf service to retrive the URL to play. 2. On return of the URL create a new PlaylistItem and assign the MediaSource to the URL and the DeliveryMethod. 3. Add that PlaylistItem to your Player.Playlist. If your player is set to AutoPlay it should play. The easiest way to get media playing is to use the Playlist methodology. Fortunately SMF allows you to intereact with the playlist via code which will allow you to accomplish what you need.
Coordinator
Aug 11, 2010 at 5:34 PM